[A Reykjavik Evening]

Did someone say guest post???  That’s right … it’s Rosno time!

While Kit recovered from a long day of relaxing, I decided to head out for a short walk around Reykjavik’s less touristy areas.  From our hostel I headed down to the harbor along one of Reykjavik’s numerous walking trails.  While the city does not have a very impressive skyline, the harbor area is gorgeous with mountains on one side of the bay and the city on the other.

Reykjavik Harbor
Reykjavik Harbor

Eventually I turned off of the harbor-side path and headed back into the  city itself.  Residential Reykjavik looks fairly similar to cities I’ve seen in America.  It has some nicer apartments and houses, along with some that look like they could use some work.

2015-08-10 21.07.36I didn’t realize that my life was about to be revolutionized by a hotdog … I stopped by a small hotdog stand where I learned that Icelanders do not slice open their hotdog buns.  Seriously people … this is a big deal!  They cut one end of the bun and create a space for the hotdog by sliding the bun onto a thick skewer.  It’s absolutely brilliant because the condiments and hotdog never spill of of the bun!  Americans need to rethink our hotdog game.

In Iceland people seem content to set up a tent in just about any location.  The city of Reykjavik is no exception.  I rounded a corner and noticed what appeared to be a small city of brightly colored tents.  Curious, I walked towards the area to find that there is a whole park inside Reykjavik devoted to people who are inclined to camp within the city.  It has camp showers, bathrooms, kitchens, and even a laundromat.  Bizarre.  The residents of this makeshift community also had one golden rule: no tent is allowed to exceed 3 feet in height.  Or at least every tent I saw managed to follow this rule.

2015-08-10 21.23.51

Thoroughly confused and amazed by residential Iceland, I stumbled across a major sports center.  It featured not only a massive soccer stadium, but also a badminton center, beach volleyball, workout gyms, outdoor pools, waterparks, and I’m sure much more that I didn’t notice.  Apparently the Icelanders really enjoy their fitness.  Finally I started heading back to the hostel and got to witness the Icelandic sunset.  Well … it’s actually very difficult to miss.  The sunset here takes about two hours.  Even after the sun has fallen below the horizon, the sky doesn’t get dark for another three hours at least.  I haven’t seen anything so far that I could actually call night.

Sunset over the bay
Sunset over the bay
Leave a Reply

