[Final Moments]

It’s our last day in the States. Are you nervous? I’m nervous. We’ll be heading to the airport in less than an hour, where we will promptly wait three hours to board our plane, which then takes off (supposedly) at 7:30 p.m. Then, our journey to Iceland will officially begin.

If you inferred from the above information that I made it to the Twin Cities safe and sound, you’d be correct. I spent approximately nine hours in my car yesterday, starting out from Grand Island at 7:15 a.m. and arriving at my relatives’ at 8 p.m. last night. (There was a four-hour break in there to say “Hi” to my parents and eat lunch, so that’s why there’s a discrepancy.)

It’s lovely to have relatives everywhere in the States, though, because one is always assured of a warm welcome (and often, food). I even managed to score a bed (appropriated from another cousin, who was relegated to the couch). It’s been a fun 20-ish hours since my arrival, and eight solid hours of sleep does wonders for my mood after a full day of being on the road.

Anyhow, stay tuned for my next post, which will detail our arrival in the island nation of Iceland.

Leave a Reply

