[Tradition]

Today was a lazy Sunday.  Kaitlyn, Liz, and Sam went up to Inis Diomain to attend an Irish church.  I chose to sleep in a little more before we would go out to Ennis for groceries.  I think I made a good choice, given how little sleep I’ve generally gotten throughout the week.  My sleep schedule is way off-kilter, now.

There’s a Mexican grill in Ennis, friends.  So can you guess what we did?  After being here for two weeks, with no fast-food options available (the closest McDonald’s is over 30 minutes away by car), we devoured those burritos and tacos.  It was excellent.

After we did the weekly shopping (because we make family meals, in which Sam does the majority of the cooking—we defy gender stereotypes), we headed back to Lahinch and just crashed for a few hours on our lovely comfy couches.

There was a traditional music session in Liscannor, the next town over, so we headed out for that.  But, because the road is dangerous (two very narrow lanes and no sidewalk), we opted to hitchhike instead.  We were picked up by a very lovely lady, who just so happened to be going to the same music session (coincidence, I think not).  It was fate—we were meant to go here.

Courtesy of Sam Gentry
Courtesy of Sam Gentry

Traditional Irish music involves musicians of all trades, and with varied skill levels.  Some of these folks have been playing for years at these sessions, and others just started tonight.  We saw instruments like tin whistles, fiddles (violins), a bouzouki, guitars, flutes, and bodhrans.

I love this music.  Absolutely love it.  I was invited to sit up right next to the musicians, and I took it.  Every time the music took a break, more musicians came through the door to join.  Towards the end of the night, there were over 20 musicians involved.  I also was given the chance to join in, and I took it.  I sang “Danny Boy,” and I think I did a decent job of it.

I’m still not sure how we managed to fit five fiddles, three bodhrans, four guitars, three whistles, one bouzouki, two dancers, and six vocalists into one corner of the pub.  I do know that I want to return and listen to more of the Irish musical tradition.

Leave a Reply

