[Archive]

I realize my post yesterday told you very little of what I did that day, but to be honest, there wasn’t much to report without a little illustration.  So today I’ve taken some photos to give you a mini-tour of where I work and what I do during the days at Salmon.

The Hallway
The Stairs

Just up those stairs, which are just off the first room of the bookshop, is where I spend most of my days.  I think I found a beautiful place to work, but you can make that decision on your own.  I think there are enough books to keep me happy, though.

The Hallway
The Hallway

So now we’re up at the top of stairs–the second floor.  Just ahead of you is my domain, the archive room.  Ignore the boxes and blankets in the hall–that’s what happens when you have to make space in a tiny room.

The Archives
The Archives

Intimidating, no?  It’s a work in progress, but I’m actually over halfway through the file cabinets (which you can’t see here), and the bookshelves.  The desk is something I’m tackling last.

The Bookshelf
The Bookshelf

A coworker and I organized this monster of a bookshelf.  You can’t tell from this distance, but it is separated into genres and alphabetized.  Mission: Would Be Accomplished (but we have to move all the fiction up to the third floor tomorrow).

The Front Desk
The Front Desk

There’s a fully-functional bookshop beneath the publishing office, and this is the front desk.  I’ve actually sat at the desk for part of two afternoons now, and I made all of three sales.  Go me!

Before this next section, I must warn you.  Jessie has five dogs.  Four of them frequent the shop whenever she’s in residence, which is just about every day.  They’re all sheepdogs, and quite enamored of being petted on a daily basis.

Zena is fourteen and losing her sight.  She is the sweetest thing, though, and she follows Jessie around everywhere.

Zeke is nine, and he’s my favorite.  He loves belly rubs, and will happily bask for hours in the sunlight in the bookshop.

I’m not sure how old Frekk is, but she loves attention and will whine until she gets love.  She and Zeke had pups together, and one of the kids is coming up next.

Jack is the biggest Border Collie I have ever seen.  I’m not sure how he came from Zeke and Frekk, because he’s bigger than the two of them combined.  Don’t let his size fool you, though, because he’s a giant fluffy marshmallow.

The Office
The Office

Last, but not least, is the office.  This is where Jessie does all of her work with Salmon Poetry, and where I spend a portion of my time.

And that’s the tour, folks.  I hope you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

