[Distance]

I actually woke up to my alarm today, surprise of all surprises.  The bus to Inis Diomain left Lahinch at 8:35 a.m., so I had to make sure I was on it.  I’ve been on buses before, in Omaha, but this one is much nicer than the ones I’ve been on.  For one, it’s about the size of a Greyhound.  It also has comfortable seats and (le gasp) seatbelts.

Funny thing about comparing things to home–eventually you run into someone who knows where home is.  That’s what happened this morning.  I ran into Ken, a hiker from Niagara Falls, who had actually hiked through Nebraska last November.

Taken from www.keninglunas.com
Taken from http://www.kenilglunas.com

Ken, who I creeped on via the lovely Internet to discover his last name and steal a better photo than the one I took (I hope that’s okay), Ilgunas, hiked the length of the Keystone XL pipeline.  On his way through Nebraska, he was joined by Dr. William Beachly, who is a professor of biology at Hastings College.  Ken also knew our progressive paper, Prairie Fire, where one of my housemates, Liz, had interned this summer.  His website and blog is here: http://www.kenilgunas.com

It’s a small world, isn’t it.  I go to Ireland, fully expecting to meet people who had never heard of Nebraska, and I find someone who not only knows where Nebraska is, but has also crossed paths with Hastings College.

Leave a Reply

